Here Goes Nothing…

This is probably going to be a lot more candid that I am comfortable with. I suppose that is the point. I feel I need to apologize ahead of time, as I am not a phenomenal writer. I tend to be a bit disjointed with my words, AAAAANNNDDDD with that lets get down to it…

 

I have had some pretty big issues with alcohol and (drugs) for a large part of my life. It’s just finally time I stepped up and did something about it. I have missed most of my 15 year old daughter’s life, who I will be visiting in Montana during this trip. Not all of the circumstances surrounding my daughter and I being estranged revolve around alcohol but I can honestly say it has played a helping hand.

 

I plan on using this medium to convey my experiences both on the bike and in the meetings and ALL my dealings with new found sobriety. My emotional journey as much as my physical.

This particular journey actually started about 2.5 weeks ago when I decided it was time for me to finally get sober. I also decided to (for the time being) scrap some business plans that I had been developing with two partners, two individuals who admittedly are two of the greatest people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. I decided instead to go on a very long motorcycle ride, starting in Phoenix and ending……. I don’t know where. On the way I am going to visit friends and family that I haven’t seen in a very long time as well as attend various Buddhist “sittings,” speakings, meetings, retreats, etc.

I actually began practicing Buddhism roughly a decade ago. Let’s just say that alcoholism and drug abuse tends to get in the way of the Dharma, or at least that’s what I’ve discovered. It’s time to get back to a regular practice and what better way to do that than traveling the countryside, visiting friends, family, sangha’s of all sorts. A motorcycle, a tent, books, a meditation cushion.

But before I set off cross country, my very close friend is flying into town tonight to begin this first leg of the journey with me. We are going to travel around the state of Arizona visit old friends and take care of some personal matters. She and I have had a tumultuous relationship over the last 4 years. This is going to be a difficult journey for the both of us, but I know that it will be well worth it. I for sure love her as much as anything in the world, even though I haven’t always shown it. As long as I can remain focused, maintain perspective and remember to forgive myself and all those around me, everyday. Everything should be just fine.

Stay tuned! Saturday morning we head out for Flagstaff! kylee-rob-az-route

Leave a comment